Creating a library to encourage library use!

Happy holidays all!

Seeing as though tomorrow will ensure my head is in an education mindset, at least for a week, thought I would egt some work done today.

The library in my school is small and underused, particularly by those in key stage 4 and 5. This is partly because it is always teeming with smaller children. Therefore I am trying to create a small library in my room from which pupils can lend items. I am hoping that this will encourage them to engage with Geography on a day to day basis and to get on board with actual books, with a potential knock on effect that more than one person would have read the same book so could share ideas, even debate a few issues.

The secondary part of the library is going to be a dvd part. I am well aware that most pupils today will not actually watch that many dvds but the idea with the library is that they can borrow ( age specific) dvds, watch them at lunchtimes in my room, take them home, even watch them with family members, get some discussion going about the Geography behind the films.

I have a reasonably nice collection with the focus, especially with the books, being on difficult texts that may be tricky to get hold of for school age pupils.

Does anyone have any good ideas for them?

Many thanks,

WT

Leave a Reply

